Rockefeller Hired a Morgan Stanley Team Managing $1 Billion in Oklahoma City
By Intersection Advisory · Advisor Moves
Published: April 17, 2026
Category: Advisor Moves
Ian M. Ogilvie and Kevin R. Kurtz left Morgan Stanley for Rockefeller Global Family Office in Oklahoma City on April 17, 2026, with support staffer Ehrynn Shephard. They are using the name Red Rock Private Wealth Partners. A source familiar with the move told AdvisorHub the team produced $6.5 million in annual revenue and managed $1 billion in assets. Rockefeller's own LinkedIn welcome, which both advisors reshared that day, does not state assets or revenue. It says the group brings experience "serving the needs of clients at every stage of wealth" and that the firm wants to support a growing presence in the central United States. The $1 billion and $6.5 million are the source's figures, as AdvisorHub published them. They are not a Rockefeller press-release total, and they are not a count of assets that had already transferred on the registration date.
Who went, and who stayed at Morgan Stanley?
AdvisorHub reported that a third advisor, Christopher D. Neumann, had been on the Morgan Stanley team and remained at the wirehouse. The source confirmed that. AdvisorHub described Neumann as a 15-year broker and said he had not responded to a request for comment. Ogilvie and Kurtz had not responded either, and a Morgan Stanley spokesperson had not immediately commented. Any reading that treats $1 billion as a fully intact team moving together runs ahead of that account. The source's figure is what the team managed. The story does not say whether Neumann's clients sit inside the $1 billion.
| Person | What the record shows |
| --- | --- |
| Ian M. Ogilvie, CRD 3248247 | Rockefeller Financial / Rockefeller Capital Management registration April 17, 2026. Prior Morgan Stanley registration in Oklahoma City, May 24, 2011–April 20, 2026. Earlier broker registration at Ramius Securities, June 29, 1999–June 22, 2004. Series 7 passed May 23, 2011. Branch: 3030 Northwest Expressway, Suite 300, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73112 |
| Kevin R. Kurtz, CRD 4363632 | Same Rockefeller registration date and the same Oklahoma City branch. CFA and CFP designations listed. Series 7 passed May 2, 2001. Morgan Stanley DW, May 2001–June 2005; Citigroup Global Markets, June 2005–June 2009; Morgan Stanley, June 2009–April 22, 2026. IAPD lists no disclosure events |
| Ehrynn Shephard | Support staff, per AdvisorHub's source and Ogilvie's own announcement that she moved with them |
| Christopher D. Neumann | Stayed at Morgan Stanley, per AdvisorHub's source |
Kurtz wrote on LinkedIn that he was part of opening a new Rockefeller Global Family Office in Oklahoma City. Ogilvie wrote that he, Kurtz, and Shephard had moved to Rockefeller Capital Management. Both posts are dated April 17, 2026, the same day IAPD shows their Rockefeller registrations beginning. Morgan Stanley registrations ended a few days later, April 20 for Ogilvie and April 22 for Kurtz, which is an ordinary overlap while a U4 transfer clears, not a second move.
Does "at Morgan Stanley since 2001" describe Kurtz?
AdvisorHub, citing BrokerCheck, said Kurtz started with Morgan Stanley in 2001. That matches the Series 7 date and the Morgan Stanley DW registration that began in May 2001. It does not mean an unbroken stay. IAPD shows him at Citigroup Global Markets in Oklahoma City from June 2005 to June 2009, then back at Morgan Stanley from June 2009 until April 2026. The Oklahoma City address is consistent. The employer in the middle of the career is not Morgan Stanley.
Ogilvie's path is also more specific than a single start year. IAPD shows the Ramius registration in 1999, then a gap until Morgan Stanley in Oklahoma City in May 2011, which is when he passed the Series 7. He also passed the Series 55 equity-trader exam in July 1999 and the Series 24 principal exam in March 2001. His IAPD statement says he was admitted to practice law in New York in 1996 and has not practiced law since 1999. AdvisorHub's line that he spent three years as a lawyer before registering as a broker in 1999 fits that statement and the Ramius date. The general securities registration that lines up with the wealth practice is the 2011 Morgan Stanley entry, not 1999.
IAPD also lists one regulatory event: a New York attorney-registration suspension from November 17, 2022, to August 1, 2024, initiated by the departmental disciplinary committee of the First Judicial Department. The allegations, as reported on the form, were that biennial attorney registration was not filed. Ogilvie's statement on the report says he registered as retired from law practice in 2017, that the suspension was an administrative lapse in re-certifying that retirement, and that the license was reinstated. The report says the order does not constitute a final order based on fraudulent, manipulative, or deceptive conduct. It is not a customer-dispute disclosure. Kurtz's report lists no disclosure events.
Who do they report to, and what else was Rockefeller doing?
AdvisorHub said the team reports to Mike Armondo, Central division leader, who joined Rockefeller from Merrill Lynch in 2019. In February, the same story reported, Rockefeller promoted Michael Outlaw, a Morgan Stanley alum who had led the New York Metro division and firmwide recruiting, to president of the wealth unit, and split five divisions into six regions: Central, Mid-Atlantic, Northeast, Northern, Southeast, and Western. That reorganization followed a December recapitalization at a $6.6 billion valuation. The valuation is the firm's. It has nothing to do with Red Rock's revenue. AdvisorHub's most recent recruit mentioned in the same piece was a solo practitioner hired in February who had managed $450 million at Merrill Lynch. That is a different hire.
A later industry roundup from Winthrop & Co. listed Red Rock at $1.0 billion with the revenue cell left blank, dated April 17, and described a two-advisor move into the Central division. Where that roundup and AdvisorHub agree is the people, the city, the date, and the $1 billion asset figure attributed to the prior firm. The $6.5 million remains a single-source figure from AdvisorHub's source.
No client count, no fee mix, and no statement of how much of the $1 billion stayed with Neumann appear in any of those accounts. The registration proves the two advisors and the Oklahoma City branch. It does not prove a portable book of $1 billion.
The Central-region hire is one line among many that [Advisor Pulse](https://intersectionadvisory.com/pulse) can keep distinct from Rockefeller's firmwide valuation. How a family-office platform keeps adding veteran wirehouse pairs outside the coasts is a longer pattern, which is what the [Crossroads report](https://intersectionadvisory.com/crossroads-report) is for, not a reason to treat this announcement as a transferred-asset report.
Sources
- https://www.advisorhub.com/rockefeller-nabs-billion-dollar-morgan-stanley-duo-in-oklahoma/ — Karmen Alexander, April 17, 2026: source figures of $6.5 million and $1 billion; Shephard; Neumann stayed; Armondo; Outlaw promotion; six regions; $6.6 billion valuation; February Merrill solo hire
- https://reports.adviserinfo.sec.gov/reports/individual/individual_3248247.pdf — Ian Marshall Ogilvie, CRD 3248247: Rockefeller date, Oklahoma City address, Morgan Stanley and Ramius dates, exams, attorney-registration disclosure and his statement
- https://reports.adviserinfo.sec.gov/reports/individual/individual_4363632.pdf — Kevin R. Kurtz, CRD 4363632: Rockefeller date, same branch, Morgan Stanley and Citi dates, CFA and CFP, no disclosures
- https://www.linkedin.com/posts/ianogilvie_i-am-excited-to-announce-that-kevin-kurtz-activity-7450954616390930432-cWO2 — Ogilvie, April 17, 2026: he, Kurtz, and Shephard moved to Rockefeller
- https://www.linkedin.com/posts/kevin-kurtz-cfa%C2%AE-cfp%C2%AE-09b6a61_exciting-to-be-a-part-of-opening-a-new-rockefeller-activity-7450974405540728833-xW4C — Kurtz, April 17, 2026: new Rockefeller Global Family Office in Oklahoma City
- https://winthropco.com/insights/wirehouse-advisor-moves-wells-fargo-rockefeller-april-may-2026 — Winthrop & Co. roundup: Red Rock listed at $1.0 billion with revenue not stated; April 17 date